If you searched "Amaha vs Mann", you are probably deciding whether the thing on your mind needs a professional or a page. Amaha, formerly InnerHour, is a therapy and psychiatry platform with a self-care app inside it. Mann is a private journal that writes back. They are not the same kind of thing, and this page says so.
We make Mann, so read this knowing that. For a lot of people the honest answer to "which one" is "Amaha, and a therapist", and we say so where it applies.
Every Amaha fact below comes from Amaha's own site, its privacy policy, and its Play and App Store listings for India, read on 9 September 2026. The links are at the bottom.
The short answer
Pick Mann if you are not ready to tell a person yet, want to write the thing down in Hindi, Hinglish, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Bengali or Marathi, and want one quiet reflection back instead of a programme.
Pick Amaha if you want a therapist or a psychiatrist, online or in a room, and an app of CBT-based courses, trackers and a community to use between sessions.
Price, side by side
| Amaha | Mann | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Free to download. "A subset of our offerings is available for free forever", per the Play listing. | Free, no expiry. Unlimited entries, one AI reflection a day, 10 chat messages a week. |
| Monthly | ₹199 (Self care, App Store India). | ₹199 |
| Yearly | ₹1,999 (Self care, App Store India). Quarterly is ₹499. | ₹1,699 |
| Higher tiers | Pro ₹1,499 and Pro (Quarterly) ₹3,499. What Pro adds is not stated. Play lists purchases from ₹99 to ₹3,499 per item. | None. |
| Therapy | Paid per session, and each therapist sets their own fee. Amaha's therapist index did not load for us; one senior therapist's profile listed ₹4,300 for 50 minutes, which is one data point, not the going rate. | Not offered. Mann is not therapy. |
On the app alone the two cost about the same. The real difference is the therapy, which Amaha sells and Mann does not.
Feature by feature
| Amaha | Mann | |
|---|---|---|
| What happens when you write | "A personal journal with prompts", per the Play listing. No AI reply to an entry is stated. | Mann says back the one thing in your entry that carried the most weight, then stops. No advice, no question. |
| Languages | The App Store India listing lists English for the app. Amaha's therapists work in 15+ Indian languages, per the site. | Writes back in 8 Indian languages: English, Hindi, Hinglish, Marathi, Bengali, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada. The app's own screens are in Hindi, Hinglish and English. |
| What it costs in India | Free to download; "a subset of our offerings is available for free forever", per the Play listing. Self care ₹199 a month or ₹1,999 a year (App Store India), quarterly ₹499; Pro tiers up to ₹3,499. Therapy is priced per session, separately. | Free plan, no expiry. Premium ₹199 a month or ₹1,699 a year. Not therapy. |
| Where your words go | Play data safety: encrypted in transit; health info, name, email, phone and "other user-generated content" may be collected. Encryption at rest is not stated. | Entries are encrypted on your phone before they are stored. Mann's servers hold ciphertext. Your words are read in flight, not at rest: a private safety screen reads every finished entry once, even one that gets no reflection, and the AI (Google Gemini) reads it when it writes your reflection. Nothing is kept. |
| Made for | India. Clinical care for 30+ conditions, from a Mumbai company founded in 2016 by a psychiatrist. | India. Joint families, career pressure, the rishta conversation, log kya kahenge. A small team in Pune. |
| Chat | Allie, a "quick relief chatbot" per the self-care page. Limits and what it stores are not stated. | "Talk to Mann". 10 messages a week free, unlimited on Premium, within a fair-use budget of 200 AI calls a day. Chat messages are not encrypted yet. |
| Therapy and psychiatry | Yes. Therapists and psychiatrists online and in-person, couples therapy, a hospital in Bengaluru. This is the product. | Not offered. Mann is not therapy or psychiatry. |
| Self-care tools | 600+ CBT-based activities per the Play listing. Courses for depression, anxiety, sleep, stress, anger and happiness. | Seven guided programs. Two free (gratitude, sleep), all seven on Premium. |
| Memory across entries | Not stated. | Split. The reflection you get after saving is written from that entry alone, with no history. Memory shows up elsewhere: chat, the opening prompt and the weekly report draw on the opening of your recent entries and up to ten open threads Mann is still holding. Threads expire after 30 days and you can delete any of them. |
| Voice | Not stated. | Voice journaling on Premium. |
| Platforms | Android, iPhone, Mac and Apple Vision per the App Store listing. | Android and iOS. No web app. Entries cannot be opened on a second phone, because the key never leaves the first one. |
| Weekly report | A mood tracker with a weekly mood chart, and a goal tracker. | A weekly report from your real week: mood, days written, word counts, the people you mentioned. Full version on Premium. |
| Community | Anonymous groups for ADHD, depression, anxiety, caregivers, LGBTQIA and OCD. | An anonymous community. 2 posts a day free, 5 on Premium. |
| Crisis | The site footer on every page lists Tele MANAS, 1-800-891-4416. | If an entry reads like a crisis, Mann gives helplines instead of a reflection. iCall 9152987821, Vandrevala Foundation 1860-2662-345. |
Where Mann is better
The journal writes back. Amaha's journal has prompts. Nothing on its site or listings says the app replies to what you wrote. Mann reads the entry once and says back the sentence that carried the weight.
Indian languages in the app. Amaha's App Store listing lists English for the app. Its therapists speak 15+ Indian languages, which is not the same as the journal understanding Hinglish. Mann writes back in seven Indian languages besides English.
What sits on the server. Mann's entries are encrypted on your phone before they are stored, so Mann's servers hold ciphertext. Amaha's Play data safety says data is encrypted in transit and does not say whether your journal is encrypted at rest. That is a gap on their page, not an accusation. A private safety screen still reads every finished entry once, the AI reads it in flight to write the reflection, and Mann's chat is plain text, so neither app is a vault.
Nothing to complete. No assessment, no course, no goal. You write the thing, it says one line back, you close it.
Where Amaha is better
A person on the other end. Amaha has therapists, psychiatrists and a hospital. Mann has none of that, on purpose. If what you are carrying has been getting heavier for weeks, Amaha is the right page to be on, not this one. If it is heavier than that tonight, do not wait for either app: call iCall on 9152987821 or the Vandrevala Foundation on 1860-2662-345.
Structured help. Six CBT-based courses, 600+ activities, an assessment that tells you where to start, a goal tracker. If you want a plan, Amaha has one.
A bigger community. Named groups for specific conditions and for caregivers. Mann's is one anonymous feed.
More screens, and a quarterly plan. The app runs on Mac and Apple Vision as well as phones, and ₹499 buys three months. Mann is phone-only, monthly or yearly.
Who each is for
Mann is for someone with nobody safe to tell, who is not ready to book a therapist yet. You write the thing, in whatever language it arrives in. Mann says back what you buried in paragraph four, and gets out of the way. It hands you a helpline if what you wrote needs one. For most people reading this in India, Mann is the one to start with: it is free, it is in your language, and it is for the thing you cannot say yet.
Amaha is for someone who has decided, or is close to deciding, that they want professional help. You book a therapist, and the app holds courses, trackers and a community for the days between sessions. An AI journal is not a substitute for that.
Mann is a journaling tool, not a therapist and not a medical device. It sits alongside therapy; it does not replace it. If what you are carrying is getting heavier rather than lighter, call iCall on 9152987821 (Mon to Sat, 8am to 10pm) or the Vandrevala Foundation on 1860-2662-345, free and 24/7.
Questions people ask
Is Amaha available in India? Yes. It is an Indian company, MindCrescent Wellness Ventures, registered in Mumbai. The app is on Google Play India and the App Store India, priced in rupees.
Does Amaha support Hindi? The App Store India listing lists English as the app's language. Its therapists work in 15+ Indian languages, per the site. Mann replies in 8 Indian languages.
Which is cheaper? For the app, about the same: ₹199 a month each, and Mann is ₹1,699 a year against Amaha's ₹1,999. Therapy on Amaha is a separate per-session fee.
Can I move from Amaha to Mann? Amaha's site does not describe a journal export. Mann has no import today. You would start fresh. If you are in therapy on Amaha, keep it.
If that is what you were looking for
Writing in Mann is free, as much as you like, with one AI reflection a day and 10 chat messages a week. Premium is ₹199 a month or ₹1,699 a year. Get Mann here.
Or don't. A paper notebook does most of this, and we say that on every page. The one thing it cannot do is say back the sentence you buried in paragraph four.
Still deciding? This page is one of thirty. The whole set, with prices in rupees and the rows each app wins, is in Best AI journaling apps in India.
Checked on 9 September 2026 against amahahealth.com, its self-care app page, therapy page and privacy policy (updated 25 July 2025), the Google Play India listing with its data safety section, and the App Store India listing. If Amaha changes something and we have not caught up, write to support@mannjournal.app and we will fix the page.