Compare

Mann vs ChatGPT for journaling

Mann TeamMZEUS LABS LLP, Pune
6 min read

If you searched "ChatGPT vs Mann", you probably already use ChatGPT for this. Not for code or recipes. For the 11pm message that starts "I don't know who to tell this to". A lot of people do that now, and it works, up to a point. This page is about the point.

We make Mann, so read this knowing that. ChatGPT is a general assistant, and it is good at many things Mann does not try to do. Where it is the better choice, we say so.

Everything about ChatGPT below comes from OpenAI's pricing page, its Data Controls help article, and the Google Play India listing, read on 9 September 2026. Links at the bottom.

The short answer

Pick Mann if you want to write the thing rather than chat about it, want it kept encrypted on your phone rather than in a chat history, want it in Hinglish, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Bengali or Marathi, and do not want your words used to train anyone's model.

Pick ChatGPT if you want a conversation that talks back at length, remembers more, works on a laptop, and comes free with no weekly cap on text chat.

Price, side by side

ChatGPTMann
Free planFree. "Unlimited text chats" with the default model, "subject to abuse guardrails". Limited memory. Voice on every plan, expanded on paid ones.Free, no expiry. Unlimited entries, one AI reflection a day, 10 chat messages a week.
MonthlyOpenAI's pricing page shows a price by location. Read from here it showed pounds: Go £7, Plus £20, Pro from £89. The Play India listing shows in-app purchases from ₹399 to ₹19,900 per item. No rupee price for a named plan was stated on the pages we read.₹199
YearlyOpenAI's page says monthly plans only for Go and Plus.₹1,699

Feature by feature

ChatGPTMann
What happens when you writeYou are in a chat. ChatGPT replies, and keeps replying. The Play listing calls this "Tailored advice".You save an entry. Mann says back the one thing in it that carried the most weight, then stops. No advice, no diagnosis.
LanguagesNot stated on the pages we read. ChatGPT's website is offered in Hindi, Bangla and Gujarati, among others.Writes back in 8 Indian languages: English, Hindi, Hinglish, Marathi, Bengali, Tamil, Telugu, Kannada. The app's own screens are in Hindi, Hinglish and English.
What it costs in IndiaFree for text chat. No rupee price for a named plan was stated on the pages we read; shown from here in pounds, Go £7, Plus £20, Pro from £89 a month. The Play India listing shows in-app purchases from ₹399 to ₹19,900 per item.Free, no expiry. Premium ₹199 a month or ₹1,699 a year.
Where your words goChats live in your history, synced across devices. OpenAI says data is encrypted in transit and at rest. A Temporary Chat stays out of history, creates no memories, is not used for training, and is deleted after 30 days.Entries are encrypted on your phone before they are stored. Mann's servers hold ciphertext. Your words are read in flight, not at rest: a private safety screen reads every finished entry once, even one that gets no reflection, and the AI (Google Gemini) reads it when it writes your reflection. Nothing is kept. Chat messages are not encrypted yet.
CrisisNot stated on the OpenAI pages we read.If an entry reads to Mann like a crisis, Mann gives helplines instead of a reflection: iCall 9152987821, Vandrevala Foundation 1860-2662-345.
Made forEverything: writing, search, images, code. OpenAI Opco, LLC, San Francisco.India. Joint families, career pressure, the rishta conversation, log kya kahenge. A small team in Pune.
ChatThe whole product. Free text chat has no weekly cap.A separate "Talk to Mann" chat. 10 messages a week free, unlimited on Premium, within a fair-use budget of 200 AI calls a day. One question at a time.
Memory across entries"Limited memory and context" on Free, "Longer memory" on Go, "Expanded" on Plus and Pro.Split. The reflection you get after saving is written from that entry alone, with no history. Memory shows up elsewhere: chat, the opening prompt and the weekly report draw on the opening of your recent entries and up to ten open threads Mann is still holding. Threads expire after 30 days and you can delete any of them.
VoiceVoice on every plan, expanded on paid plans.Voice journaling on Premium.
Your words and model trainingOpenAI's pricing page: "Content is used to train our models. Opt-out available." The setting is called "Improve the model for everyone" and you turn it off yourself.Entries are not used to train any model. There is no setting to find.
Weekly reportNone stated.A weekly report from your real week: mood, days written, word counts, the people you mentioned. Full version on Premium.
PlatformsWeb, iOS, Android. History syncs across devices.Android and iOS. No web app. Entries cannot be opened on a second phone; the key never leaves the first one.

Where Mann is better

What sits on the server afterwards. ChatGPT keeps your chat in your history so it can sync and remember. Mann encrypts the entry on your phone before storing it, so its servers hold ciphertext. Both read your words in flight to reply: on Mann, a private safety screen reads every finished entry once, and the AI reads it in flight to write the reflection. The difference is what remains. That holds for entries. Mann's chat messages are not encrypted yet; they sit as plain text on Mann's servers, the way a chat history does. If the thing you need to say is that heavy, write it as an entry.

Training. On ChatGPT, your content is used to train OpenAI's models unless you turn that off in Data Controls. On Mann, entries are never used to train any model. There is nothing to switch.

It stops. A chat keeps going. An hour of chat can feel like processing when it is not. Mann says back one thing and hands you the page.

A record you can read back. Mann keeps entries, moods, and a weekly report built from them. ChatGPT keeps a chat history. One is a journal, the other a transcript.

Indian languages and the context. Mann writes back in Hinglish and six other Indian languages, and was tuned for them. When you write "Papa said the usual thing about the job", it does not need the usual thing explained.

Where ChatGPT is better

Free chat with no weekly cap. ChatGPT's free plan has no weekly limit on text chat, subject to what its pricing page calls abuse guardrails. Mann gives you 10 chat messages a week free. If what you want is the conversation, ChatGPT is the better one, and it is free.

Memory. ChatGPT remembers more, and paid plans remember longer. Mann's reflection is written from the entry alone. Its memory sits in chat, the opening prompt and the weekly report, and reaches back about a fortnight. If you want March to bring up what you said in January, that is ChatGPT.

A laptop and sync. ChatGPT runs in a browser and your history follows you to every device. Mann is a phone app; entries stay on the phone that wrote them.

Voice on the free plan. ChatGPT's free plan includes voice chat. Mann's voice journaling is Premium only.

Who each is for

Mann is for someone with nobody safe to tell. You write the thing, in whatever language it arrives in. Mann says back the sentence you buried in paragraph four, keeps it encrypted on your phone, and gets out of the way. It is free, and the paid plan is ₹199 a month.

For most people reading this in India, Mann is the one to start with for what you cannot say out loud. It is free, it is in your language, and it costs ₹199 if you ever pay.

ChatGPT is for someone who wants to talk it through, right now, at length, and wants the same assistant to draft the email afterwards. It is free for that, it remembers more, and it is on every device you own. Read its Data Controls page once.

Questions people ask

Is ChatGPT available in India? Yes. It is on Google Play India with in-app purchases priced in rupees.

Does ChatGPT support Hindi? The pages we read do not list the languages the chat replies in. OpenAI's website has a Hindi version. Mann writes back in 8 Indian languages, including Hinglish.

Which is cheaper? For free chat, ChatGPT: no weekly cap. For a paid plan, we could not read an Indian price on OpenAI's page; the cheapest in-app purchase on its Play India listing is ₹399. Mann Premium is ₹199 a month or ₹1,699 a year.

Can I move from ChatGPT to Mann? OpenAI's Data Controls FAQ says you can export your data. Mann has no import today. You would start fresh.

If that is what you were looking for

Writing in Mann is free, as much as you like, with one AI reflection a day and 10 chat messages a week. Premium is ₹199 a month or ₹1,699 a year. Get Mann here.

Or don't. A paper notebook does most of this, and we say that on every page. The one thing it cannot do is say back the sentence you buried in paragraph four.

Still deciding? This page is one of thirty. The whole set, with prices in rupees and the rows each app wins, is in Best AI journaling apps in India.

Checked on 9 September 2026 against OpenAI's ChatGPT pricing page, OpenAI's Data Controls FAQ, and the Google Play India listing. The pricing page shows prices by location and showed pounds when we read it. If OpenAI changes something and we have not caught up, write to support@mannjournal.app and we will fix the page.

Want to start journaling tonight?

Mann is free to download. Unlimited journaling, no credit card.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play